Quick answer: An influencer based in Abu Dhabi needs two things: an economic licence from the Abu Dhabi Department of Economic Development (ADDED), applied for through TAMM, and the federal Advertiser Permit from the National Media Authority. Press reports from June 2024 put the ADDED licence at AED 1,250 for individuals, while TAMM's Freelancer Licence page shows AED 1,115 in visible fee lines and does not name influencers. The federal permit is free for the first 3 years for citizens and residents, then AED 1,000.
Search for this and you get pages of business setup firms quoting packages. We looked at the government pages instead. Some of it is clear. Some of it is not published in a place we could read, and we say so below rather than fill the gap with a vendor's number.
The federal permit has its own step by step guide. This article covers only the Abu Dhabi layer and how the two fit together.
What the Abu Dhabi rule is
In June 2024 ADDED said influencers and businesses advertising online would need its licence from 1 July 2024. We could not find ADDED's original circular on its website or on TAMM, so this comes from press reports of it, all dated June 2024.
- The National reported AED 1,250 for individuals and AED 5,000 for groups of influencers who set up a company, bought through TAMM.
- The same report quotes an official saying that “influencers and entities must also secure a licence from the Abu Dhabi Department of Economic Development”, in addition to the federal permit.
- Khaleej Times reported that foreigners living outside the UAE can apply if they have an Emirates ID or unified number, and that there were 543 licence holders in this activity at the time.
Both reports also mention fines for operating without the licence. We are not printing an amount, because we have read it only in the press and not in the regulation. Check the current position with ADDED.
What TAMM actually shows
TAMM has no service we could find called "influencer licence". The closest match, and the route press reports describe, is Issue Economic Licence, Freelancer Licence. As listed on 1 November 2026, the page shows:
| Fee line on TAMM | AED |
|---|---|
| Organizational Entities Fee | 790 |
| Registration Fee in the Economic Register | 10 |
| Establishment Card request, Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship | 315 |
| Total of the lines shown | 1,115 |
So here is the honest position on cost:
- AED 1,250 is what press reported in June 2024. We did not find it on a government page.
- AED 1,115 is our sum of three lines on TAMM. The page also collapses further detail behind a Show More link and marks cost as varying as incurred, so treat it as a floor and not a final bill.
- The TAMM page does not mention influencers. It says you pick from an approved economic activities list, which we could not open without signing in. Khaleej Times described the relevant activity as advertising services on e-platforms. Confirm your activity appears on the list before you pay.
The page lists attested certificates or academic qualifications, experience certificates and professional certificates as required documents, 10 working days as the time, and a minimum legal age. It does not state how long the licence lasts. Vendors quote other prices for this licence. We have left all of them out, because none is a government figure.
Licensing costs money, so price for it. Work out a rate that covers your licence, your time and usage rights before the next brand asks.
Open the rate calculatorHow it relates to the federal permit
They answer different questions, and one does not replace the other.
- The federal media law says the regulator issues permits to individuals providing advertising or media content on social media, paid or unpaid (Article 12). It also says a media licence or permit does not replace approvals required from other authorities (Article 7).
- The NMA's permit page says citizens and residents must first obtain a trade licence to practise electronic media from the relevant authority. Its service page lists a commercial licence among the documents.
So the order runs local first, federal second. In Abu Dhabi the relevant authority for a mainland licence is ADDED, through TAMM. Free zones are licensed separately, and the media law keeps them under the same content standards (Article 6). If you want the plain difference between a permit, a licence and a visa, see our Dubai content creator visa guide, since the visa is a third document on its own schedule.
Abu Dhabi, Dubai and the federal permit compared
As read on 1 November 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it on an official page.
| Abu Dhabi (ADDED) | Dubai | Federal Advertiser Permit (NMA) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Economic licence for the activity | No separate influencer licence found on an official page. A commercial licence from Dubai's economic department or a free zone | Permit to publish advertising on social media |
| Applies to | Influencers and businesses advertising online in Abu Dhabi, per June 2024 press | Not stated as an influencer rule | Individuals in the UAE, paid or unpaid |
| Apply through | TAMM, with UAE PASS | Dubai's economic department or the free zone. UAE.gov names both emirates' departments for online business licences | NMA e-services |
| Cost | AED 1,115 in visible TAMM lines. AED 1,250 reported in 2024 press | Not stated as one figure. Varies by authority | Free for 3 years for citizens and residents, then AED 1,000 |
| Validity | Not stated on the TAMM page | Not stated | 1 year, renewable |
| Listed time | 10 working days | Not stated | 3 working days |
| Needed if you post from Abu Dhabi? | Yes, per the ADDED official quoted in 2024 | Not stated. Ask ADDED if you hold a Dubai licence and work in Abu Dhabi | Yes |
The last row has a real gap. We did not find an official answer for a solo creator holding a Dubai or free zone licence who takes an Abu Dhabi brand deal. Ask before you sign.
The federal fines for advertising without a permit, from Cabinet Resolution No. 42 of 2025, are a written warning, then AED 20,000, then AED 50,000, doubling after that. An expired permit is AED 10,000, then AED 20,000. This section explains what the sources say. Check your own setup with a lawyer or accountant.
Steps checklist
- Check you are in scope. The NMA exempts people advertising their own products or a company they own through personal accounts. Promoting anyone else's product, for money or for free, means the federal permit.
- Get UAE PASS working. TAMM's first step is logging in with it.
- Find your activity. Sign in and check the approved activities list for advertising on electronic platforms. If it isn't there, contact TAMM support before paying.
- Gather documents. Certificates or qualifications, experience certificates and professional certificates, attested where asked.
- Apply and pay on TAMM. Watch the final fee screen, since the public page is only a guide. Other entities may need to approve.
- Apply for the NMA permit with digital ID, passport, personal photo and your new licence.
- Complete the NMA training. The service page makes it a condition, along with good conduct, no previously cancelled permit and no money owed to the authority.
- Show the permit number on your accounts, and publish ads only through the accounts linked to the permit.
- Label every ad. The executive regulation requires clear identification and disclosure of any financial return (Article 33). Real estate, health, financial, education and food ads need prior approval from the relevant authority.
- Diary your renewals. The licence, the permit and any visa run on separate dates.
- Sort the money side. Business banking, invoices and VAT tracking are in our UAE money setup guide, and UAE UGC rates show what to charge once you are licensed. Confirm your tax position with an accountant.
Licensed and ready for brand work? Connect your accounts so brands can see verified stats. Payment is held until the work is approved.
Create your creator profileFAQ
How much does an influencer license cost in Abu Dhabi?
Press in June 2024 reported AED 1,250 for individuals and AED 5,000 for companies. TAMM's Freelancer Licence page shows AED 1,115 in visible lines on 1 November 2026, and doesn't name influencers. Your final fee screen on TAMM is the number to trust.
Is the TAMM licence the same as the Advertiser Permit?
No. TAMM handles the Abu Dhabi economic licence. The National Media Authority issues the federal permit. The 2024 ADDED statement says influencers need both.
Do I need the Abu Dhabi licence if I live in Dubai?
We found no official answer for a solo creator. Ask ADDED in writing before taking Abu Dhabi work. You still need the federal permit either way.
Can a foreigner apply?
Khaleej Times reported in 2024 that foreigners can apply if they have an Emirates ID or unified number. We did not find this on TAMM.
I am only visiting Abu Dhabi. What do I need?
Visitors use the separate Visitor Advertiser Permit, AED 500 for 3 months, filed through a licensed UAE agency.
Sources
- TAMM: Issue Economic Licence, Freelancer Licence
- National Media Authority: Advertiser Permit
- National Media Authority: Permit for an Individual to Provide Advertising or Media Content
- National Media Authority: Permit for Visiting Individuals
- UAE Legislation: Federal Decree by Law No. 55 of 2023 Regulating Media
- UAE Legislation: Cabinet Resolution No. 68 of 2024, Executive Regulation
- UAE Legislation: Cabinet Resolution No. 42 of 2025, Violations and Penalties
- UAE.gov: eCommerce
- The National: Social media influencers must have these licences to work in the UAE (June 2024)
- Khaleej Times: Unlicensed social media influencers in Abu Dhabi (June 2024)